top of page

5 beginner tips for how to write a song

Want to write a song but don't know how? This is how I learned to write my first song when I didn't know where to start. No musical talent, or music theory required prior to writing. You can still create your own song. These are my 5 songwriting tips for beginners.

Maybe you're like me-- you really enjoy listening to music, but sometimes you just hear a song and say, "I could write something better than this!" Soon after you've said this out loud, the crushing realization arrives that you have no clue how to approach songwriting. You end up thinking, "I want to write a song, but I don't know how, I'm no musician, what am I talking about? Why did I say I could do this?!" Before you scare yourself away, and into a spiral of creative despair, I'm here to tell you that you can write a song-- because I felt exactly like that, and I still made one. So, you can too.

If you have the desire to create a song and learn some new things along the way, here's how you can do it. I'd like to point out, these tips are in no particular order. You can start with lyrics or music, or anywhere in between. The point is to start somewhere and keep at it. This post's goal isn't to explain music theory (I wouldn't know how to anyway). But, rather offer key components of music to search for when you have no clue about music theory, like me. (This post does assume you have access to a musical instrument.)

1. Figure out what you want to say, and where you want to say it

What do you want to say in your song? What are you trying to express? What do you want people to think about and feel when listening to the song? Your theme(s) determine the metaphors and imagery you want to use. From a larger topic idea, you can choose sub-topics or scenarios that you want to cover in your lyrics through either concrete or abstract examples. I think imagery is very important to good songwriting from a listening perspective. It allows you to write common ideas in original manners, and specific events in universal concepts. It makes an audible story become a visual piece. Write every idea down, even if you don't know where the idea's going. Having more writing snippets to work with is always better. Then you can rearrange and edit the pieces to fit how you like. And, when you write things down, you won't forget them-- even when you say you won't forget that idea. (Been there.)

All these lyrical ideas get placed into different parts of a song. The 2 key parts of a song are the Verse, and the Chorus, the section of the song that repeats after every verse. If you think up, a catchy phrase or something you want to emphasize-- it, most likely, should go in the chorus. You can also have a Pre-Chorus, which is a repeating line or two that links the verse and chorus melodically (sound-wise). This is optional. You can also utilize a bridge section, which is basically like a one-time sung, different sounding chorus, near then end of the song as a point of reflection lyrically, or for instrumentation emphasis. When I started writing, I focused on my verses and the chorus. Then afterwards, I went to see if I wanted additional elements in my song. I decided on a bridge, but didn't use a pre-chorus. It's up to you. Focus on what you want to say, and then you can adjust the writing to fit into the sections you like and want to use.

2. Rhyme schemes

Rhyme scheme is the pattern of rhyming, or similar sounding words, that you're using in the lines of your lyrics. There are different ways that you can use matching rhyme elements within your song. You can rhyme a word in every line with each other or you can rhyme every other line with each other. You can alternate a variety of patterns and have more than one rhyming pattern within a stanza or entire song too. There are plenty of resources online for examples of varying schemes. You can create whatever pattern you'd like. In a song, patterns are typically consistent and follow a specific suit within a verse or a chorus, etcetera. Rhyme schemes allow a flow to your lyrics, just like in poetry. Using these schemes, helps in your pursuit of lyrics because looking at the related sounding words for one line 's rhyme can inspire connecting lyric ideas for another.

3. Choosing a key for the song

Choosing a key for your song allows you to find related notes that sound good together. When you don't know where to start, this is a guaranteed way to learn and play notes / chords that will always work well together. The key is based on musical notes: A through G, and can also be the flat or sharp of those notes. It's easy to search online different keys, (i.e. "notes in the key of C") and there's a lot of nice charts and examples for notes that are apart of the various scales. Now, you can learn how to play specific notes / chords, and then experiment in choosing groups and patterns of playing them. This is where the learning and research part comes in, for you. Through doing this, I learned new chords, and created a pattern, or chord progression, of those notes to practice. Working on this, provides a foundation for potential melodies and variations of sound for different parts of your song, like the bridge and chorus. And, I'll repeat-- record and take notes for what you think up, for reference. You will not remember everything. It's very helpful to be able to play back and review what you're working on. It also acts as documentation of your progress.

4. Learning and Practice

As you probably know, there's new things to learn when you've never written a song before. And, we need more musical practice then those who are established musicians. There's a lot to songwriting but it's not overtly complicated if you break it down into components to focus on. You're not going to write a song, unless you work on writing a song. All that work is learning, practice, and creativity, in that order. Through, learning you gain ability. It's a fun process and should be a fun process, so remember that when you start to feel otherwise. Start by working on playing one chord, then add a few more. Rearrange them, play them differently. See what works. Sing random jibberish. Take notes. Practice. Repeat.

5. Determination over Frustration

Determination instead of frustration is critical when you're doing something you've never done before. It's really easy to become frustrated and decide you're quitting what you wanted to try and say you're not doing this anymore. It's easier to walk away from something new compared to a project that involves a skill you have and do well. You have to keep moving forward and practicing. Believe in yourself that you can complete this endeavor, especially when you don't think you know what you're doing. (That's called learning.) When you allow yourself to freely create rather than put pressure on yourself to do something right or well, you'd be surprised to find that you do discover ways to complete what you thought was impossible to do. Frustration is inevitable but don't let it keep you down for long, because the more you keep at it. The closer you are to new ideas and finishing your first song.

When I was writing my song I just kept playing the cords over and over. I didn't think intently on trying to make a lyric. I let random words and ideas pop into my head. Then I started just singing them over the chords, in a random melody, with a lot of la's and mumbles in between. When I stumbled upon a phrase I liked, I stopped and wrote it down. Then I could review it and add additional notes in front of me.

I know I said writing a song doesn't just happen-- but sometimes during the creative process, things do just happen. It's like a serendipitous reward for your efforts. Unconsciously or not, a thought pops into your head, and it works. As Picasso said-- "Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working." In any art, there is no set formula or method that you can follow consistently to achieve a goal. It's always a process. You have to invest in that process.

I hope this offers some motivation and insight into how to achieve your first time songwriting goals when you're not sure where to start. My work is proof that you can write a song and not be a musician. You just have to be determined to do so. Keep trying new things. Keep learning. Keep creating.

& hopefully you enjoy my song, below! Either way, I enjoyed the process...

 RECENT POSTS 

bottom of page