top of page

The Artful Filmmaker Blog is Alive

A new comprehensive resource for all things film, for filmmakers, by filmmakers

This is the first post on this website.

This is the start of this project, officially.

I initially started this guide idea on my main blog, in August 2018, but after thinking about it these past few months. I thought, since it's more of a collaborative space and appendix of things beyond just my own work, it deserved it's own space to grow. So, I designed this website, and moved my first filmmaking resource, to its own post here.

These are excerpts from that first post, in August 2018:

"Filmmaking has so many levels of effort and art within it. Finding a good resource, is sometimes a serendipitous event that can be immensely useful the rest of your career.

The guide can house any form of media: article, book, video, website, etc. The media can cover topics within any aspect of film. For example, a documentary on a writer-director, a website for royalty free music, or a DIY gear video.

Each post will overview the source material, offer benefits of the material, and suggest other creative applications of what’s discussed and learned.

Sometimes, you forget about things you discover and wanted to remember. These posts give me the opportunity to put them somewhere, and reflect on what is learned."

That's still the goal. I'm still figuring out this project. But, like I said, this is the start. And, that's better than never starting. Like with anything else, this is a new journey. I'm not sure where it'll lead, but I'm excited to give it a shot.

So, from my filmmaker heart to yours, thank you for reading and supporting this site.

Keep creating. And, Happy Filmmaking.

Recent Posts
Search By Category
bottom of page